In MTG can a creature have double life link namely from an equipment and from an ability that it has itself?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Devius
    Lv 6
    10 years ago
    Favourite answer

    No you can't

    702.13. Lifelink

    702.13a Lifelink is a static ability. Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source’s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 118.3.

    702.13b Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant.

    The rules update with Magic 2010 changed Lifelink into a static ability (as you noticed). This means that damage done by an object with lifelink causes that object's controller to gain that much life.

  • Icon
    Lv 7
    10 years ago

    Well as the others said the answer is generally no (see Devius's answer). You do have to pay attention to the card however. If a card is printed with wording like "you gain life for damage dealt by creature" and it has not been amended by Errata rulings then it could be possible to stack the ability with Lifelink. I don't think any cards currently fit this case though, but if something comes out in the future with the a similar ability then you could also give lifelink since it is a keyword (static ability). As it stands now any duplication of keyword abilities are redundant. (i.e. you can't give a flying creature another flying ability since it is already flying).

  • 4 years ago

    Double Lifelink

  • 10 years ago

    Nope, not since they changed it. Now you can have lifelink on something that has the ability to give you life for each damage dealt. That's just like lifelink but doesn't include the ability word itself.

  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • 10 years ago

    no

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.