Hindus :::What are the "ASHTA DARIDYAS"(Eight Kind of Poverties) defined in scriptures?



@@Amit Kumar,::-- Thank you. I am NIL on Sanskrit language, but Daridya, as far as I know is a "noun" in Sanskrit.

The Lalita Sahasranaamah glorifying Sri Devi as "Daridya; dukha bhaya haarini""

5 Answers

  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    First of all i don't know if i have to laugh or pity at you it is not ashta daridyas for your kind information it is ashta daridras and Misfortunes or miseries are more important than fortunes or sources of happiness. When bright fortunes rule a person, he / she will have no difficulty in adjusting his/her surroundings and enjoying their results. Similarly when misfortunes have an upper hand with a person, then the person will not only be unnerved but also will be at loss to know how to meet them.

    Arishta means Daridra (sufferings / poverty); in general, Daridra are of eight types, hence we often say Ashta Daridra (eight types of sufferings).

    The eight types of suffering in hinduism are:

    Retributive Suffering - caused by sin and disobedience to God.

    Educational or Disciplinary Suffering - by not believing on the lords judgements

    Vicarious Suffering - Vicarious Suffering is the act of allowing one self to go thru suffering for the sake of others.

    Empathetic Suffering - where one person's grief affects many others,

    Evidential or Testimonial Suffering

    Doxological Suffering - for the glory of God , like in the case of kannapa nayanar

    Revelational Suffering - for saying the truth

    Apocalyptic or Eschatological Suffering - that will come at the end of this age.

    Source(s): I am a ph.d in sanskrit masters in vedanta bachelors in panini i am a exponent of sahitya done a degree in pali diploma in linguistics(hinduism) doctors in ancient indian history and another phd in vaishnava philosophy so this seems to be a very basic question for me
  • Linda
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    The government does not do enough to spread the idea of birth control amongst the poor and illiterate workers. A very large force of volunteers are required to spread the idea and implement it. The NGO's do little or nothing in this direction. Unless the population growth is checked poverty cannot be eradicated. Even enforcement of rules like no ration card and no government aid beyond two children can be enforced. Once again in this matter the politicians are culprits because they see the poor people as their votebank.

  • 9 years ago

    Ashta Daridras are always considered opposite to Ashta Aiswaryas. Just like how Moodevi is considered opposite to Sri Devi. Daridra or Arishta means poverty. Poverty does not just mean money and wealth in this context.

    The eight types of poverty are :

    1. Lack of children

    2. Lack of valor

    3. Lack of victory

    4. Lack of money

    5. Lack of grandeur

    6. Lack of food

    7. Lack of auspiciousness

    8. Lack of grace of Sri Devi.

    I have come accross the word 'Ashtadaridra' in Lingashtakam, a hymn to Lord Shiva.

    'Ashta dalopari veshtitha lingam, Sarva samudbhava karana lingam, Ashta daridra vinasana lingam, Tat pranamami sada shiva lingam.'

    'I bow before that Lingam, which is the eternal Shiva, Which is surrounded by eight petals, Which is the prime reason of all riches, And which destroys eight types of poverty.'

    If one is afflicted by daridram (poverty) in life, jyotishashastra recommends a remedy by worshiping Sri Lalita Tripurasundari along with Sri Parama Shiva. One may also chant Daridra Dahana Shiva Stotram, Lingashtakam or Sri Suktam for relief.

  • Anonymous
    9 years ago

    Not being a Hindu, I've probably got this all wrong, but I think they might be the following 8 steps, or limbs, involving meditation.

    Yama - self-restraint

    Niyama - restriction / limitation and in self-denials

    Asana - discipline of postures

    Control of breathing

    Isolating the mind from the senses


    Dhyana - contemplation free of distractions

    Samadhi - trance

    Woops! Wrong again! I defer to Amith Kumar V!

  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • Good question. it seems no direct answer from scriptures as the answerer is ignorant of vast Hindu scriptures.

    दारिद्रय daaridraya n. poverty

    दारिध्र daaridhra n. poverty

    1) Ashta Daridrya:

    ashta: eight + daridrya: poverty) Eight types of poverties: 1. Lack of children, 2. Lack of valor, 3. Lack of victory, 4. Lack of money, 5. Lack of grandeur, 6. Lack of food, 7. Lack of auspiciousness and 8. Lack of grace of Adi Lakshmi, the Goddess of Wealth.

    2) Ashta Daridrya sans Ashtaishwaryam:

    (i) Ashtaishwaryam: (ashta: eight + aishwarya: wealth) Eight kinds of wealth: 1. Shakti, power, 2. Adhipatya, sovereignty, 3. Upanivesha, inhabiting the earth with living beings, 4. Vibhava, exalted position, 5. Dhana, material wealth, 6. Badappana, supremacy, 7. Sarvashakti matta, omnipotence, 8. sarva vyapakata, omnipresence.

    (ii) Ashtaishwaryam:

    'Puthra Pouthraabhi Vrithischa Vidhyabhoga Balathigam

    Ayur Arogyam Sampathi Ashta Aishwaryam Thvamehi'

    Not possessing any of Ashtaishwaryam is Ashta Daridrya!

    3) Charity from Srimad Bhagavatam (6.14.34):

    'tebhyo hiraṇyam rajatam

    vasaḿsy abharanani ca

    graman hayān gajan pradad

    dhenunam arbudani ṣaṭ'

    Unto the brahmaṇas who took part in the ritualistic ceremony the King gave charity of gold, silver, garments, ornaments, villages, horses and elephants, as well as sixty crores of cows (six hundred million cows).

    Ashta Daridrya is without the following:

    (i) hiraṇyam — gold

    (ii) rajatam — silver

    (iii) vasamsi — garments (silk like)

    (iv) abharanani — ornaments (with precious stones)

    (v) graman — villages (lands for homes and cultivation)

    (vi) hayan — horses

    (viii) gajan — elephants

    (viii) dhenunam — (of) cows

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.