Is gelatin in evion 400 is non veg?
- JulienLv 77 months ago
By definition gelatin is an extract of proteins from leftovers of animal products. If it's not made from animals it's not gelatin. If it's written gelatin on the list of the ingredients it's not vegan (and very likely to be non halal/kosher neither). But many manufacturers use vegan substitutes (algae mostly).
- LouisLv 77 months ago
I don't know what evion 400 is, but....
Although there are vegetarian forms of gelatin they are not common. and then they are not usually called gelatin. Agar and Carrageenan are often used in products that require gelatin and need to be vegetarian. But if a product includes gelatin in the ingredients it is a safe bet it is not vegetarian. Another good thing to check is if it has a label saying it is kosher. Not foolproof but Kosher gelatin is not made from animals.