Was this Poker Hand played out correctly question?

My hand: A,9

Friend's hand: A, 4

The community pile : A, K, 8, 2, 3In this case a tie was called as the highest hand for both of us was AAK. 

We split the chips, but there was an odd amount on the lowest chip. In this case my friend was awarded the odd chip as he had an Ace of Hearts and I had an Ace of Diamonds. Did we play this out correctly?

9 Answers

  • 2 months ago
  • Anonymous
    3 months ago

    Whoever bet the most chips wins

  • 3 months ago

    IDK why are you asking me

  • 8 months ago

    No, you certainly did not.  Why did you stop at AAK?  Poker hands are 5 cards, unless you are specifically playing 3 card poker.

  • What do you think of the answers? You can sign in to give your opinion on the answer.
  • Anonymous
    8 months ago

    Yes. Good Job.

  • 8 months ago

    In case of hands...  they would be...

    YOU: A-A-K-9-8

    Friend: A-A-K-8-4

    UNDER SIMPLE / QUICK ruling...  You both have a Pair of Aces w/ King kicker & therefore would having a split pot.

    UNDER OFFICIAL / DETAILED ruling...  You would win as your hands differ on your 2nd kicker (9 vs 8).

    As for split pots, you break it up as evenly as possible.  In the event there's an odd chip, you can either leave it for the next hand OR give it to the dealer of the round.  There's no unified ruling I can find on this...  so go with what you believe would be fair.

  • 8 months ago

    No. It is always the best 5-card hand. You had AAK98, while your friend had AAK84, so you should have won the entire pot.

    As far as splitting pots where the pot doesn't come out even for all, I believe you are supposed to split as even as possible and the remainder stays in the pot for the next hand.

  • opurt
    Lv 7
    8 months ago

    By Texas Hold'em rules, you should have won the whole pot. You had AAK98, they had AAK84. 

  • 8 months ago

    nope...never heard it played like that...you should have won it all because you haad the 9 as a high card....oh...actually if it was 3 card poker then yes its a split pot..meaning in all you games did anyone have 2 pair or use 4 or 5 cards as part of their hand...if so then you got robbed

Still have questions? Get answers by asking now.